Building a Stronger Relationship

Relationships are great when you find someone you love and who loves you back. When people think about falling in love with someone, they usually think of the kind of love you read in fairy tales or see on television. Everything seems so perfect and effortless, so naturally we tend to think that’s how all relationships are supposed to be. Unfortunately, all relationships come with their own conflicts and are not fairy tale perfect.

When you’re in a relationship, you have to care about your partner and do little things for them to show them you love them. You may be wondering what kind of things I am talking about. Right? Well, that depends on the person that you are in a relationship with. Everyone has their own ideas and ways about what make them feel loved. As their partner, it is up to you to figure that out and make them feel as loved as possible.

I took a class about relationships and we read many excerpts out of the book The Five Love Languages by Gary Chapman and they were so eye opening. He came up with five universal ways that people express love and called them The Five Love Languages. Everyone is said to have both a primary and secondary love language. They may sound cheesy, but I assure you that these can really help a couple out!

  1. Physical Touch: You give or want to receive affection physically. This can be anything from hand holding to sex or just a pat on the back. IMG_3177
  2. Words of Affirmation: You need to hear words that you are loved and how much and why. You may also prefer to express your affection verbally.
  3. Receiving Gifts: Presents and physical items of affection are very meaningful to you because of the fact that someone is thinking about you enough to give you something to express their love. The sentiment is more important than the object itself. IMG_3623
  4. Quality Time: This can be expressed through doing things together or through conversation. IMG_3482
  5. Acts of Service: You like to show your love by doing favors or chores for others and feel appreciated and loved when others do those things for you as well.

Knowing yours and your partner’s love languages is an important way to understand each other more and show them that you love them the way they want to be loved. Here is the link to Gary Chapman’s website where you can take the quiz to see what your love languages are.

I hope this helps you!

Lots of Love, Lisa ❤

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s