Food

Zucchini and Beef Skillet

This is one of my favorite meals that I make once a week. Not only is it super delicious because zucchini is my favorite vegetable, it is also super easy to make! My mom used to make a dish called Calabacitas which was basically zucchini, yellow squash, onions, corn, and cheese sautéed together. I always loved it except for the onions, because dislike the texture of them. Other than that I absolutely loved them! Then one evening I had dinner at my older sister’s house and she made Calabacitas except she skipped the cheese and added ground beef to it to make it more filling. I fell in love! So of course I had to go home and make my own.

Ingredients:

  • 1lb lean ground beef
  • 3 medium sized zucchini
  • 10oz bag frozen corn
  • 1tbsp seasoned salt
  • 1tbsp onion powder
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • shredded cheese of your choice (optional)

Prep: Chop the zucchini into half circles and preheat a non-stick pan on medium heat.

Cook: Cook the ground beef and add the seasoned salt and onion powder. As you’re cooking the ground beef, break it up into small pieces with the spatula. Once the meat is almost fully cooked, add the zucchini in and cover the pan with a lid or cover. This will help steam the zucchini and make it soft.

IMG_3454While the zucchini is steaming, follow the directions on the bag of the frozen corn to heat it up. I like to get the bags that you can just throw in the microwavable because it’s faster and doesn’t dirty another dish. Once the corn is finished, throw it in the pan with the zucchini and meat.

IMG_3458 Add in some salt and pepper, then put the lid back on. Once the zucchini is soft and looks almost translucent, it should be all done! Sprinkle some shredded cheese on top if desired.

IMG_3463On a normal day I will eat this with a tortilla or slice of bread. On days I want to eat a little bit healthier, I eat it alone and it becomes a low carb meal!

I hope you find this meal useful and tasty on those busy evening. If you try it out, please share your photos and thoughts about this meal with me. I would love to hear what you thought of it! Feel free to leave your comments down below in the comment section.

If you would like to see more quick and easy recipes in the future, please follow my blog and sign up for my email list. You can also follow me on social media. My name is sparkleese on all platforms.

Thank you so much for stopping by and taking time to read this post. I really appreciate it!

IMG_3987[1]

2 thoughts on “Zucchini and Beef Skillet

Leave a comment